NWRCA Winners, p Clear

Winners from the 2023 edition of the North Wet Regional Construction Awards celebrated their wins at the ceremony. Credit: via Clear

North West Regional Construction Awards open for entries

With new categories to recognise exceptional delivery of sustainability and social value goals, the 2024 North West Regional Construction Awards will spotlight the best buildings and projects in the region.

There are 15 categories for the awards, including Building Project of the Year and SME of the Year. The awards are free to enter, with the deadline for submissions set for 28 March. The shortlist will be revealed the week of 6 May, with the award ceremony itself being held on 5 July at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel.

Winners of the North West awards will go on to compete in the national contest in November.

The North West Regional Construction awards are hosted by the School of Science, Engineering, and Environment at the University of Salford and the Centre for Construction Innovation. Place North West is one of the event’s sponsors.

The 2024 edition of the regional event will be the first time that awards are given for social value and sustainability.

Head judge Peter McDermott, who is also a professor at the University of Salford, explained why these categories were introduced.

“2023 was the 25th year since year since the then Deputy Prime Minister challenged the industry to ‘rethink construction’,” he said.

“Respect for people, innovation, and collaborative working, were the original watchwords – with the drive for what we might now call better social value outcomes – and better environmental and economic outcomes.

“During 2023 we have worked with the other Constructing Excellence regions to refresh the Construction Award categories to ensure that they continue to solicit the best applications and give recognition to the positive impact the construction sector contributes to communities across the UK,” he continued.

“Please look at the refreshed categories, tell your friends, and get those applications in so we can showcase the best in the North West, and take the winners to the national awards in November 2024.”

You can see the full category list below. To enter, go to constructionawardsnw.co.uk.

  • Building Project of the Year
  • Climate Action Award
  • Client of the Year
  • Contractor of the Year
  • Delivering Value Award
  • ESG Award
  • G4C Future Leader Award
  • Infrastructure Project of the Year
  • Innovation Award
  • Integration and Collaborative Working Award
  • People and Culture Award
  • Regeneration and Retrofit
  • Residential Project of the Year
  • SME of the Year
  • Sub-regional Project of the Year

Your Comments

Read our comments policy

Related Articles

Sign up to receive the Place Daily Briefing

Join more than 13,000 property professionals and receive your free daily round-up of built environment news direct to your inbox


Join more than 13,000 property professionals and sign up to receive your free daily round-up of built environment news direct to your inbox.

By subscribing, you are agreeing to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

"*" indicates required fields

Your Job Field*
Other regional Publications - select below