End of era as Palace transitions to Principal
A new sign is due to be installed on the Manchester hotel’s clock tower this week, as part of owner Starwood’s rebrand of several UK hotels to Principal.
The iconic illuminated red “PALACE” sign has now been removed from all sides of the building’s 217ft tower, and the remaining advertising banners at street level are due to be taken down today.
It is understood that one Palace sign will be donated to a Manchester museum, while another is set to be auctioned off to raise money for The Christie charity.
The replacement of the sign is the final touch to a £25m refurbishment of the hotel largely completed in September, which saw the remodeling of the 270 bedrooms and 17 meeting and event spaces, as well as the launch of the New Refuge restaurant and bar.
The hotel, on the corner of Oxford Street and Whitworth Street, occupies three adjoining buildings dating to between 1895 and 1932. Designed by Alfred Waterhouse, his son Paul, and Stanley Birkett, all three buildings were commissioned by The Refuge Assurance Company as its company headquarters.
The Principal brand will be in operation across Starwood’s Manchester, Edinburgh and York hotels from tomorrow, 1 November.