Labour celebrates sweep of victories

Labour took control of Sefton, Carlisle and Wirral and won the mandate for the first directly elected city mayor in Liverpool at the local elections on Thursday.

The results echoed the national picture, with Labour gaining control of 32 councils in England, where elections were held in 181 councils.

Voters in Manchester rejected the proposal of a city mayor by 53.24% to 46.76%. There were ward elections as well as the mayoral vote in Manchester. The composition of Manchester City Council is now Labour 86 seats, Liberal Democrat nine, and one independent.

In Liverpool, Cllr Joe Anderson, Labour leader of the city council, was elected mayor.

Anderson become Liverpool's first directly-elected mayor with 58,458 votes, gaining 59% of the votes needed on the first ballot. Turnout was 30.8%. Former BBC journalist, Liam Fogarty, was second with 8,292 votes, 8% of the turnout.

In Carlisle, Labour took control of the city council after a period of no overall control. Labour took two seats from the Conservatives and two from the Liberal Democrats, reaching a total of 27. Conservatives have 20 councillors, the Liberal Democrats two, there are two independents, and one seat is vacant.

In Wirral, Labour won control after winning seven seats – five from Conservatives and two Liberal Democrats, ending a turbulent period of no overall control. Labour has 37 seats, Conservatives 22 and Liberal Democrat seven.

With counting still going on in many boroughs, so far all four mayoral referenda have resulted in a 'no' for the proposal from voters; in Nottingham, Coventry, Bradford, and Manchester. Ten cities voted on the matter.

Salford and Liverpool had already decided to have a mayor and were voting for candidates.

In Salford, Labour candidate Ian Stewart won in the second round.

Elsewhere, Labour took control of Sefton from no overall control and held Wigan, Tameside, St Helens, Bolton, Bury, Knowsley, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford.

Conservatives held Trafford.

In Stockport, the no overall control position remains; Liberal Democrats have 28 seats, Labour 21, Conservative 10 and there are four others.

Your Comments

Read our comments policy

Related Articles

Sign up to receive the Place Daily Briefing

Join more than 13,000 property professionals and receive your free daily round-up of built environment news direct to your inbox


Join more than 13,000 property professionals and sign up to receive your free daily round-up of built environment news direct to your inbox.

By subscribing, you are agreeing to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

"*" indicates required fields

Your Job Field*
Other regional Publications - select below