Energy awards open for entries

Cheshire-based Energy Innovation Centre has launched the latest annual awards for the most innovative companies in the energy-saving sector across the UK.

The Energy Innovation Awards 2011 is in its second year and the presentation ceremony and dinner will be held in Manchester on Thursday 23 June.

Energy Innovation Centre champions innovation and provides a gateway to accelerate cutting-edge products and technologies to market.

The categories for the 2011 energy Innovation Awards are:

  • Rising Star
  • University Spin-out
  • New Energy Generation
  • Existing Performance Improvement
  • Consumer Benefit Award
  • Best Service Provider
  • Best International Trade
  • Energy Innovation Award – Best of the best

Denise Massey, director of the Energy Innovation Centre, said: "Our Inaugural Energy Innovation Awards were a tremendous success and it is with great pleasure that we announce the 2011 awards are now open for entries. There is a great deal of pressure on the energy sector to meet rising energy demand and decarbonising targets, meaning innovation has never been more important. These awards bring to the forefront and celebrate the pioneering work which is taking place across the UK and internationally to address the world's energy problems."

Last year, Merseyside firm E-Energy Enterprise scooped two awards after impressing judges with its 'E-Engine', which allows low temperature waste heat to be used to generate electricity in industrial processes.

Best International Trade Award went to FMC-Tech, of County Clare, Ireland, whose real-time network monitoring equipment is a fundamental component of the Smart Grid schemes.

Merseyside-based Furlong Innovations was awarded the Consumer Benefit Award for its cost-effective CombiSave technology, which provides instant hot water to households with combination boilers, eliminating waiting time for the water to run hot.

The Energy Innovation Awards will be held for the second year at the Hilton Deansgate Manchester on Thursday June 23 2011, where the winners will be announced.

The judging panel includes John Bullock, chairman of the Institute of Engineering & Technology North West; Alan Clarke, director and investment committee chairman, University of Manchester Intellectual Property; and David Smith, chief executive of Energy Networks Association.

Your Comments

Read our comments policy

Related Articles

Sign up to receive the Place Daily Briefing

Join more than 13,000 property professionals and receive your free daily round-up of built environment news direct to your inbox


Join more than 13,000 property professionals and sign up to receive your free daily round-up of built environment news direct to your inbox.

By subscribing, you are agreeing to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

"*" indicates required fields

Your Job Field*
Other regional Publications - select below