Transport authority appoints first committee

Thirty three councillors have been appointed to the Transport for Greater Manchester Committee, replacing the Greater Manchester Integrated Transport Authority which was abolished on 1 April.

The TfGMC advises the Combined Authority for Greater Manchester on transport policy. The 33 members represent the ten district authorities in Greater Manchester. The following key appointments were made:

  • Chairman, Cllr Andrew Fender, Manchester
  • Vice chairman and chairman of the capital projects & Policy sub-committee, Cllr Roger Jones, Salford
  • Vice chairman and chairman of the bus and services sub-committee, Cllr Mark Aldred, Wigan
  • Vice chairman and chairman of the Metrolink and rail networks sub-committee, Cllr Doreen Dickinson, Tameside

Cllr Fender said: "I am honoured to have been appointed as chairman of the new Transport for Greater Manchester Committee as it embarks on its first year.

"This is a very important time for transport across the region and I look forward to working with my colleagues to ensure we continue building a quality, integrated transport network for the people of Greater Manchester."

The establishment of the new Combined Authority, TfGMC and TfGM represent new governance arrangements for transport in Greater Manchester.

The TfGMC oversees public transport and is also responsible for the management and maintenance of traffic signals and, alongside districts and the Highways Agency, the management of road network strategy and promoting road safety.

Your Comments

Read our comments policy here