Shortlist for first Liverpool architecture awards revealed

The Liverpool Architectural Society, the local branch of the RIBA, has published the nominations for its first set of awards, celebrating buildings completed in the past five years.

The winners, to be announced at a dinner on 9 October at St George's Hall, will be drawn from the following:

Community, presented by The University of Liverpool

  • Gateway to Hope, Hope Park, designed by Brock Carmichael
  • Sydney Jones Library, School Lane, by Shepherd Epstein Hunter
  • Olive Mount Gardens, Olive Mount, Halsall Lloyd Partnership
  • Breeze Hill Neighbourhood Health Centre, MBLA Architects
  • Toxteth TV, 37-45 Windsor Street, Union North
  • Academy of St Francis of Assisi, Liverpool, CAPITA

Commercial, presented by Places Matter

  • Liver Street Car Park, 17 Liver Street, Wilkinson Eyre
  • One Arthouse Square, 61-69 Seel Street, Austin-Smith:Lord
  • Matchbox, Speke Boulevard, Shed KM
  • Unity, 20 Chapel Street AHHM

Sport, Leisure and Cultural

  • Bluecoat renovation and extension, School Lane, BIQ / ASL
  • Arena and Convention Centre, Monarchs Quay, Wilkinson Eyre
  • Victoria Gallery and Museum, Ashton Street, Levitt Bernstein
  • Formby Pool, Fielden Clegg Bradley

Conservation presented by Curtins Consulting

  • Anglican Cathedral internal addition, St James Mount, Brock Carmichael
  • Mawdsley Skelton Residence, 82 Rodney Street, Snook
  • Novas Contemporary Urban Centre, 41-51 Greenland Street, Novas
  • Alma de Cuba, St Peters Square, DK Architects

Small Projects

  • Bennet Haus, 12 Aldbourne Avenue, Woolton, Snook
  • 1 Oak Farm, Springwood Avenue, Allerton, Shed KM
  • Liverpool Biennial Offices, 55 New Bird Street, Union North
  • Oak Farm Plot 5, Springwood Avenue, DK Architects


  • Unity, 20 Chapel Street, AHHM
  • Mulgrave Quarter, Mulgrave Street, A-Cubed
  • Riverview Gardens, 303 Old Chester Road, Rock Ferry, DK Architects
  • Brookside House, Brookside Avenue, Shed KM

Sustainability, presented by Buro Happold

  • Mulgrave Quarter, Mulgrave Street, A-Cubed
  • Toxteth TV, 37-45 Windsor Street, Toxteth, Union North
  • Kindseed Centre, 19 Back Canning Street, OMF Derek Cox
  • Wigg Island Visitor Centre, Runcorn, Hot Architecture

Regeneration, presented by Liverpool Vision

  • Birkenhead Park Pavilion, Birkenhead, Ainsley Gommon
  • Vanilla Factory, 39 Fleet Street, Shed KM
  • FACT, Wood Street, Austin-Smith:Lord
  • Temple Square, Temple Street, Falconer Chester Hall

The judging panel consists of architect Roger Stephenson, Urban Splash's Tom Bloxham, artist Ben Johnson and editor of Architects Journal, Kieran Long. There will be special awards for Building of the Year and Lifetime Contribution.

Your Comments

Read our comments policy here