RIBA exhibition prepares for Stirling Prize

On Saturday 13 October the winner of the 2012 RIBA Stirling Prize, the UK's most prestigious architecture prize, will be announced at an awards dinner in Manchester Central, hosted by BBC Radio 4 presenter Mark Lawson.

A travelling exhibition will also be driving into the city and asking local people which building they think should be crowned the winner.

The six buildings in the running for the RIBA Stirling Prize will feature in the two-day exhibition within Architruck, a mobile exhibition unit, which will visit two Manchester venues in the lead-up to the announcement of the winner:

Friday 12 October, in Media City UK

Saturday 13 October, outside Manchester Town Hall in Albert Square

The travelling exhibition features images and films of the RIBA Stirling Prize shortlisted buildings and the stories of the architects who designed them. Visitors can vote for who they think should win the prize. The exhibition also features buildings in the North West that have been contenders for the RIBA Stirling Prize.

The six buildings competing for this year's RIBA Stirling Prize (including betting odds from William Hill) are:

  • The Hepworth Wakefield, Yorkshire by David Chipperfield Architects (William Hill odds: 3/1)
  • London Olympic Stadium by Populous (odds: 5/1)
  • The Lyric Theatre, Belfast by O'Donnell + Tuomey (odds: 4/1)
  • Maggie's Centre, Gartnavel, Glasgow by OMA (odds: 9/2)
  • New Court, London by OMA with Allies and Morrison (odds: 4/1)
  • Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge by Stanton Williams (odds: 7/2)

Tickets are available to attend the RIBA Stirling Prize dinner, see the link below:

The Observer is the national media partner for the prize, and The Architects' Journal is the trade media partner.

Previous winners of the RIBA Stirling Prize include: The Evelyn Grace Academy, London (2011) and MAXXI Museum, Rome by Zaha Hadid Architects (2010), Maggies Centre at Charing Cross Hospital by Rogers, Stirk, Harbour + Parners (2009); Accordia by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios/Alison Brooks Architects/Maccreanor Lavington (2008); The Museum of Modern Literature, Marbach am Neckar, Germany by David Chipperfield Architects (2007).

Your Comments

Read our comments policy here