Liverpool One dominates RIBA North West Awards

Six out of 13 nominations for the 2009 Royal Institute of British Architects awards in the North West have gone to the 43-acre city centre regeneration scheme by developer Grosvenor.

The shortlist in full is as follows:

Liverpool One Masterplan, designed by BDP

Chavasse Park, Liverpool One, BDP in association with Pelli Clarke Pelli

John Lewis, Liverpool One, John McAslan & Partners

Bling Bling, Liverpool One, CZWG

13b Paradise Street, Liverpool One, Allies and Morrison

Paradise Street Bridge, Liverpool One, Wilkinson Eyre Architects

Wigg Island Visitor Centre, Runcorn, Hot Architecture

Private House, Bramhall, MBLA Architects + Urbanists

Alan Turing Building, Manchester, by Sheppard Robson

3 Towers, Manchester, by Union North

BDP Studio, Manchester, by BDP

Silver Cafe, Morecambe, Arca

Midland Hotel, Morecambe, Union North

The judging panel, comprising of Philip Gumuchdjian, of Gumuchdjian Architects, Sir Duncan Michael of Arup and Rod Hughes of Ad-hoc Associates will visit each scheme on the shortlist before deciding which ones will win a prestigious RIBA Award on 20 May 2009.

The judges take into account the following factors when considering entries: budget, size, complexity of brief, detail, invention/originality, contract type, client satisfactory, sustainability, social factors and delight.

Belinda Irlam-Mowbray, director of RIBA North West, said: "There is an immense amount of variety in the types of projects shortlisted this year.

"We are particularly delighted that of the schemes shortlisted, the majority have been designed by North West based practices, demonstrating the wealth of architectural talent in the region."

From 2009 RIBA National Awards will no longer be presented, but judging for the RIBA Awards and Stirling Prize remains unchanged. Winners of an RIBA Award will be eligible to be shortlisted for the RIBA Stirling Prize.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at Urbis, Manchester on Wednesday 20 May.

Your Comments

Read our comments policy here