Four Lancashire and Cumbria sites make nuclear shortlist

A list of eleven sites that could be potential hosts to new nuclear power stations in the UK was published by the Government today for a month-long public consultation.

The Department of Energy and Climate Change said the sites could be operational by 2025. Four of the eleven are in the North West:

  • Heysham, Lancashire, nominated by EDF Energy
  • Kirksanton, Cumbria, nominated by RWE
  • Braystones, Cumbria, nominated by RWE
  • Sellafield, Cumbria nominated by NDA

The remainder in the rest of the UK are:

  • Hartlepool nominated by EDF Energy
  • Dungeness nominated by EDF Energy
  • Wylfa Peninsula, North Wales, nominated by NDA and RWE
  • Oldbury nominated by NDA and EON
  • Hinkley Point nominated by EDF Energy
  • Bradwell nominated by NDA
  • Sizewell nominated by EDF Energy

Ed Miliband, Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, said: "This is another important step towards a new generation of nuclear power stations. I want to listen to what people have to say about these nominations and I encourage people to log-on to our website, read the information and let us have their comments. We will consider this alongside the advice of our independent expert regulators."

Sites which are judged to be potentially suitable will be included in the draft National Policy Statement on nuclear power which will be published later this year for public consultation. This is part of the new planning system under the new Planning Act 2008. The NPS will set the policy framework for the new independent Infrastructure Planning Commission's decisions on new nuclear power.

See further details of the list on the Nuclear Power Siting website here.

Your Comments

Read our comments policy here