Five North West buildings win RIBA Awards

The Royal Institute of British Architects has announced the winners of this year's RIBA Awards for architectural excellence.

The winning projects range from 'an important new public space for Liverpool' to a 'flagship for the New Islington' in Manchester.

The five buildings in the North West region that have won RIBA Awards, from a shortlist of 11, are:

Chips, Manchester by Alsop Architects

Liverpool One, Sites 1 & 7, Liverpool by Haworth Tompkins with Dixon Jones

Liverpool John Moores University Art & Design Academy, Liverpool by Rick Mather Architects

New Roundhouse, Manchester by Walker Simpson Architects

The Pier Head and Canal Link, Liverpool by AECOM Design + Planning

Click gallery below to view images

RIBA Awards for architectural excellence were presented across the country on Wednesday night with 102 buildings in the UK and Europe winning; 93 in the UK and nine in the rest of the EU.

RIBA President Ruth Reed said about the 2010 RIBA Award winners: "The RIBA Awards reflect not only the state of British architecture but also that of its economy. In the midst of the deepest recession in the 45-year history of the RIBA Awards this year's winners demonstrate that although times might be hard for architects, there are still great buildings being built throughout the country and overseas.

"The RIBA Awards always give an opportunity for gem-like small projects and less established practices to shine through and this year is no exception. Far from being a size prize, the RIBA Awards are for buildings that offer value to people's lives. I am looking forward to seeing an exciting RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist."

The RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist will be drawn from the 102 RIBA Award winners. The RIBA Stirling Prize, in association with The Architects' Journal is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year. The prize will be presented at The Roundhouse, London on Saturday 2 October 2010.

 RIBAComing soon: Look out for an in-depth feature about RIBA Awards winners on Place

Your Comments

Read our comments policy here